Community Profile

The mosaic of ethnic communities/tribes that co-exist and enrich the hills and the valleys of Assam culturally and socially carry with them an abundance of history, indigenous knowledge and human values. IRDIS is reaching out to them to hold hands and tread the common path to achieve a common goal.

IRDIS in partnership with the diverse ethnic peoples of the State of Assam and through its research and documentation initiatives strive for the empowerment of these communities and create a data bank of priceless Indigenous knowledge.

Some of the ethnic communities besides many others that IRDIS look forward to work in partnership in the different regions of Assam are:

  1. The Singpho community in Tinsukia and Sibsagar districts
  2. The Tea and Ex-Tea community in Tinsukia, Dibrugarh, Jorhat, Sibsagar, Golaghat, Nowgong, Morigaon, Sonitpur, Darrang, Lakhimpur, Kamrup, Goalpara districts.
  3. The Tai- Phake community in Dibrugarh and Tinsukia districts
  4. The Tai Kamiyang community in Tinsukia, Sibsagar, Jorhat and Golaghat districts
  5. The Sema community in Tinsukia district
  6. The Tai- Turung community in Jorhat and Golaghat districts
  7. The Tai- Aiton community in Golaghat district
  8. The Tai- Khampti community in Lakhimpur and Tinsukia districts
  9. The Tiwa community in Morigaon district
  10. The Amre Karbi in Sonapur in Kamrup district and in Meghalaya.
  11. The Rabha community in Goalpara and Kamrup districts
  12. The Garo community in Kamrup district
  13. The Moran community in Tinsukia district
  14. The Mottock community in Tinsukia district
  15. The Mech Kachari communityV in Sibsagar and Tinsukia districts
  16. The Thengal Kachari in Jorhat district.
  17. The Mising community in Lakhimpur and Dhemaji districts.
  18. The Deuri community in Lakhimpur district.
  19. The Karbi community in Karbi Anglong district.
  20. The Rabha Hasong community in Goalpara district.
  21. The Sonowal Kachari community in Dibrugarh district.
  22. The Dimasa Kachari in North Cachar Hills
  23. The Chutia Community in Golaghat, Jorhat, Sibsagar, Dibrugarh, Tinsukia, Lakhimpur, Dhemaji, Nowgong, Marigaon, Darrang districts.
  24. The Nyishi Community, Sonitpur district